ANSWERS TO COMMON QUESTIONS ABOUT CONNECTICUT’S PRETRIAL IMPAIRED DRIVING INTERVENTION PROGRAM
If you were driving under the influence and have been charged with a Connecticut DUI/DWI, it is important that you understand your options and the potential consequences. Under Connecticut law, you may be eligible for the Pretrial Impaired Driver Intervention Program (IDIP), formerly known as Alcohol Education Program (AEP). The Pretrial Impaired Driver Intervention Program (Alcohol Education Program) allows someone charged with DWI to receive alcohol education or substance abuse treatment instead of having their case prosecuted and potentially suffering a conviction.
This Connecticut statutory privilege is not given to everyone. The first step is to be found eligible, then seek assistance from an experienced attorney like those at The Maddox Law Firm, Inc. Our lawyers have an in-depth knowledge of state criminal laws and eligibility requirements for these programs, some of which are discussed on this page. You can click here to apply.
HOW DO I KNOW IF I AM ELIGIBLE FOR THE PRETRIAL IMPAIRED DRIVER INTERVENTION PROGRAM?
These are the statutory requirements and what you will state in court on the record when you apply for the Connecticut Pretrial Impaired Driver Intervention Program (IDIP):
- You have not received this program within the 10 years immediately preceding your arrest.
- You have not been convicted of driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs on or after October 1, 1981.
- You have not been convicted of assault in the second degree with a motor vehicle while under the influence on or after October 1, 1981.
- You have not been convicted of manslaughter with a vessel while under the influence in the second degree.
- You have not been convicted in any other state of the same or similar crime at any time.
It is important to note that these are just the very basic eligibility requirements. Meeting these requirements does not mean that you will automatically receive the privilege. Working with the right attorney can make a big difference in your case. Substance abuse does not have to be confronted alone.
WHAT ARE THE NEXT STEPS TO RECEIVE THE PRETRIAL IMPAIRED DRIVER INTERVENTION PROGRAM?
- The court will only consider your Connecticut DUI/DWI Pretrial Impaired Driver Intervention Program if you have first addressed the alleged DUI/DWI victim. The court will require you to send notice via registered or certified mail to any alleged victim who received physical injuries or suffered property damage because of the alleged DUI/DWI. The notice must inform the victim that you have applied for the Connecticut Pretrial Impaired Driver Intervention Program and that the victim will have the opportunity to be heard by the court before the court considers whether to grant you the privilege of the Connecticut Pretrial Impaired Driver Intervention Program.
- You will be sent to the Department of Mental Health and Addiction Services (DMHAS) for an assessment and evaluation to determine if you are eligible for the Connecticut Pretrial Impaired Driver Intervention Program. DMHAS will then recommend to the court that you either enroll in a 10-week educational program, a 15-week educational program or a substance abuse treatment program.
- If you are granted the privilege of the Connecticut Pretrial Impaired Driver Intervention Program, you must participate in whichever program the court orders within 90-days unless the court extends the timeframe.
- The court may also order you to take part in a victim impact panel such as Mothers Against Drunk Driving; however, you are not required to participate. The victim impact panel involves listening to individuals speak about their experiences while driving under the influence, as either an offender or victim, and any other information related to drinking and driving.
- If you successfully finish the Connecticut Pretrial Impaired Driver Intervention Program and additional treatment recommended by the Court Support Services Division, the court will dismiss your charges.
WHAT ARE THE APPLICATION-RELATED COSTS ASSOCIATED WITH THE PRETRIAL IMPAIRED DRIVER INTERVENTION PROGRAM?
Non-refundable costs include:
- Application Fee – $100
- Evaluation Fee – $100
- 10-week Program Fee – $350
- 15-week Program Fee – $500
- Victim impact panel Fee – $75
If the court orders you to enroll in a substance abuse treatment program, you must pay the cost of that program to the treatment provider.
If the court finds you are unable to pay or are indigent, the court may decide you do not have to pay some or all the fees.
WHAT IF I DO NOT SUCCESSFULLY COMPLETE THE PRETRIAL IMPAIRED DRIVER INTERVENTION PROGRAM BEFORE MY SCHEDULED DATE OF DISMISSAL?
You may be eligible for reinstatement into an alcohol intervention program or a substance abuse treatment program if you do not successfully complete the Connecticut Pretrial Impaired Driver Intervention Program. Reinstatement requires $175 for the 10-week program and $250 for the 15-week program. You will not be permitted more than two program reinstatements.
Get Your Questions Answered During An Initial Consultation
If you’d like to know more about your legal options and how our attorneys at The Maddox Law Firm can help you, contact us to schedule an initial consultation. You can reach out online or call 203-298-3154.