Breach Of Peace: You May Have Broken The Law Without Knowing It
In Connecticut, any behavior that disturbs or disrupts the peace can be considered a criminal offense known as a breach of peace. Even simple actions like playing loud music or using allegedly inappropriate language in public can result in charges. A large gathering or party might result in a breach of peace charge. It’s important to note that the Connecticut statute defining breach of peace makes it an intentional crime. In other words, you must have meant to commit this crime. Depending upon the circumstances, this element can be difficult for prosecutors to prove. If found guilty of breach of peace, you could face fines and imprisonment, depending on the severity of the disturbance.
If you have been arrested, wrongfully charged, or are being investigated for a breach of peace, contact The Maddox Law Firm, Inc., by calling 203-298-3154. Our skilled criminal defense attorneys will fight for your freedom. You have a right to force the State to prove its allegation against you and to confront witnesses in court, and a right to hold law enforcement accountable.
A Closer Look At Breach Of Peace Charges
You can be charged with breach of peace in the second degree if you commit one of the following actions:
- Assaulting another person
- Exhibiting or advertising indecent materials about another person
- Using obscene language in a public place
- Making obscene gestures in a public place
- Threatening to commit any crime against another person or their property
While breach of peace in the first degree is considered a more serious charge, it also has a narrower definition that will not apply to most people. Someone may be charged with first-degree breach of peace if they place a fake explosive device or fake hazardous substance in an area where it is likely to be found by someone else. The device/substance must be placed with the intention of annoying, inconveniencing or harassing others.
Breach Of Peace Penalties In Connecticut
The criminal penalties for a breach of peace conviction include:
- 1st Degree – Up to 5 years in prison, a maximum fine of $5,000, and probation
- 2nd Degree – 6 months in jail, up to $1,000 in fines, and a probation period
Don’t discount the importance and consequences of a Connecticut breach of peace charge. It is essential to consider the significance and value of your privacy and reputation. Breach of peace charges makes your entire matter a public record. Even if you apply for one or another of Connecticut’s diversionary program privileges, such as Accelerated Pretrial Rehabilitation or the Family Violence Education Program, the public nature of a breach of peace charge can impact family, work, school and your standing in the community. The online availability of every detail of your arrest record can create a social stigma that can significantly impact every critical aspect of your life.
Discuss Your Rights And Legal Options During An Initial Consultation
As you can see, breach of peace charges can stem from behaviors that most would consider merely rude or impolite. Thankfully, it is critical for prosecutors to prove intent. If you’ve been charged with breach of peace, contact our skilled lawyers at The Maddox Law Firm, Inc., to learn how we can help protect your rights and freedom. To get started, call 203-298-3154 or submit an online contact form. Hablamos español. Nous parlons français.