PROTECT,
ADVOCATE, DEFEND

The attorneys at The Maddox Law Firm provide powerful and relentless advocacy in Fairfield County and throughout the State of Connecticut.

In Order to Better Serve You While Concerns over COVD-019 Continue, The Maddox Law Firm is Happy to Conduct Consultations by Phone, Via Skype or Other Video. Documents can also be reviewed and signed electronically.

Connecticut gun laws and penalties

On Behalf of | Aug 26, 2021 | Criminal Defense

Connecticut gun laws are meant to protect anyone, resident of the state or not. Breaking any gun rules and regulations can land you in serious trouble. For instance, just carrying a handgun without a permit can you sentenced to a maximum five-year prison term, require you to pay a fine of $5,000 and mandate that you undergo three years of probation. So to be on the safe side, here are the gun laws you should know and the penalties you may face if you break any.

Connecticut gun laws

You need a permit to own, carry and operate a firearm. Obtaining a permit in Connecticut takes about 60 days, and you must also qualify for the permit. For example, you must undergo training under a certified firearm instructor to confirm that you can handle a gun. You also should not have a criminal record and must be a legal resident of the U.S.

You can carry a gun almost anywhere except a school property, a building with a general assembly officer or employee, a place of business where you are an employee, and any other place where firearms are prohibited.

You need a permit to take a gun out of your house even if you are still on your property. You also need a permit for any time you are traveling with your gun, including in your car.

Connecticut gun penalties

Weapons violations in Connecticut include:

  • The unlawful sale, manufacture or transportation of guns
  • Unlawfully firing your weapon
  • Possessing a stolen firearm
  • Carrying, purchasing or operating a gun without a permit
  • Carrying a firearm when under the influence of a drug
  • Using or possessing a gun when you have a felony conviction

The penalties for a weapon charge in Connecticut include:

  • Three years in prison and a fine of $500 for unlawfully carrying a gun
  • Three-year jail term and a $250 fine for unlawfully discharging your weapon
  • One-year prison sentence and $2,000 fine for carrying a gun when under the influence
  • Five to eight more years in prison if you are a felon with a firearm

If you have a gun in Connecticut or are considering getting one, you will need to understand the laws clearly to avoid getting in costly trouble. If you don’t understand anything, you could make consultations to understand more about your rights as a gun holder.