This is the second part of a two-part series. In this part, I will share with you the 5 things that you need to know AFTER a Connecticut DWI arrest.
#1 Whether you need it or not, and whether you’re innocent or guilty of DWI, you should immediately engage a professional alcohol counselor. The Maddox Law Firm prefers either a Licensed Alcohol and Drug Abuse Counselor, (LADC), or a PhD experienced in alcohol counseling. Several sessions with the right counselor will demonstrate to the Court that you are taking your situation seriously and that you are already in charge of your rehabilitation. This makes very good sense for your legal defense strategy and for your health.
#2 Connecticut will seek to impose penalties and requirements upon you in two different forums. One is the Superior Court. If you are an alleged first-time offender, you will be eligible to apply for the Alcohol Education Program, (AEP). If that privilege is granted to you, you will be required to attend either ten or fifteen alcohol education classes or possibly a more intensive outpatient program. You will also be required to attend one or more Mothers Against Drunk Driving Victim Impact Panels. If you do everything that is asked of you by the Superior Court, the Superior Court case will be dismissed one year after the AEP is granted to you.
#3 The other forum that will penalize you after a Connecticut DWI is Connecticut DMV. You will receive a letter from DMV notifying you that your driving privilege will be suspended completely for 45 days. That suspension will begin 30 days after your DWI arrest. The same letter will also tell you that you have a right to a hearing in order to oppose the suspension. Hire an experienced, dedicated Connecticut DWI law firm to attend that hearing and fight that suspension for you.
#4 If your driving privilege does in fact go under suspension, during the first 45 days, you may be eligible for a permit to operate a motor vehicle for work purposes or for education purposes. However, if you receive that permit, you cannot under any circumstances drive for any other purpose. If you are found driving outside of your permit purposes, you will be charged with Operating Under Suspension for DWI and you will face thirty mandatory days in jail.
#5 If your driving privilege is suspended, after the initial 45 day suspension, Connecticut will require that you place an Ignition Interlock Device, (IID), in your car in order for you to drive. If you submitted to a blood alcohol test, usually a breath test, your IID period will be six months. If it’s alleged that you refused the test, your IID period will double to 12 months. Again, operating a motor vehicle without an IID during your IID period can result in arrest and the same mandatory thirty-day-jail sentence described in #4.
Connecticut DWI defense is some of the most complicated work that an experienced Connecticut criminal defense attorney can undertake. It not only requires knowledge of intricate Connecticut DWI laws, but also substantial experience in the management and defense of Connecticut DWI.
If you’re arrested for DWI in Connecticut, seek the representation of a veteran, driven law firm. I’m intentionally using the term “law firm” instead of simply “lawyer”. That’s because truly thorough representation for your Connecticut DWI will benefit tremendously from a team of lawyers and legal professionals who are experienced in the defense of your case and the intricate administrative details required to guide you through what can be a demanding and difficult process. The Maddox Law Firm is comprised of exactly that kind of team.
The Maddox Law Firm has been defending Connecticut DWI’s for more than 27 years. We are driven about this work and we have the compassion and energy to help you and your family regardless of the evidence or allegations against you.
Call us at (203) 972-5861 so that we can immediately begin to relieve your worry and stress and so that you have the protection and defense that you deserve.