If you are charged with drug possession in Connecticut, it is important to fight the charges. Not only may a conviction have disastrous effects on your career, you may also face hefty fines and jail time. The penalties for drug possession depend upon the substance you’re caught with.
Marijuana charges in Connecticut
Connecticut has not legalized marijuana for recreational use. But it has decriminalized possession in small amounts. So long as the amount is under a half ounce, first time offenders face only a civil penalty and a maximum fine of $150. Subsequent offenses of this nature may lead to a $500 fine. While the fines may not seem like much, a conviction will stay on your record. Also, if you’re caught with over half an ounce of marijuana, you may face steeper fines and possible prison time.
Connecticut does a medical marijuana program for patients suffering from certain conditions. If you have a certificate verifying your participation, you will not face charges or a fine for possessing small amounts of marijuana.
Drug charges in Connecticut
Connecticut’s drug laws rank among the most draconian in the country. Even first-time narcotics charges carry severe consequences. You may face up to seven years in jail if you’re convicted of heroin, cocaine or crack possession. On top of prison time, you could receive a fine of up to $50,000. Further violations lead to lengthier sentences and heftier fines, topping out at 25 years and $250,000, respectively. Convictions for possession of other controlled substances like amphetamines or hallucinogens, can lead to lesser – yet still significant – charges.
Even if you believe there is no way you could be convicted of a crime, don’t take any chances by trying to represent yourself or by hiring an inexperienced defense lawyer. A seasoned attorney will help you not only avoid a conviction but help you keep the charges under wraps, so that the impact to your job and career are minimized.